ISP Squash

UNIVERSITY OF MUMBAI Inter-College Squash Tournament

  At Police Gymkhana, 10th & 11th November, 2009

Winner Laxman Joshi flanked by runner-up Cyrus Vakil (left) and second runner-up Arun Sharma.


Laxman Joshi retains collegiate crown



Laxman Joshi beat Cyrus Vakil to retain the title in the Inter-Collegiate Squash Tournament, organised by the University of Mumbai and H.R. College Sports Council, at the Police Gymkhana, Marine Drive on Wednesday.


In a repeat of last year’s final, defending champion Joshi once again romped to an impressive 11-2, 11-3, 11-9 win over the formidable Vakil, who came up with a late challenge in the third game.


Joshi snatched the opening two games that included a double stroke in quick succession in the second game. He faced stiff resistance from Vakil who went up 6-5, 8-6 and 9-8 in the crucial third. But Joshi rallied brilliantly and smacked crucial winners in the end to take the game and match away.


Earlier, in the semi-finals, Joshi overcame Waqar Pathan of Mithibai 11-5, 11-0, 11-6, while Vakil rallied from a 1-2 deficit to beat Arun Sharma of Lokmanya Tilak, Vashi 11-6, 9-11, 9-11, 11-2, 11-4.


Sharma beat Pathan in the play-off for third and fourth positions.


The tournament kicks off a series of events being organised by the H.R. College Sports Council to celebrate the college’s Golden Jubilee Year.



Final: Laxman Joshi (H.R. College) bt Cyrus Vakil (H.R. College) 11-2, 11-3, 11-9.


Laxman Joshi (H.R. College) bt Waqar Pathan (Mithibai) 11-5, 11-0, 11-6; 
Cyrus Vakil (H.R. College) bt Arun Sharma (Lokmanya Tilak, Vashi) 11-6, 9-11, 9-11, 11-2, 11-4.


How they finished: 1. Laxman Joshi, 2. Cyrus Vakil, 3. Arun Sharma, 4. Waqar Pathan.

94th tournament Organised by ISP